Skip to content

Tir na n-Og awards 2021

Saesneg / English language

Enillydd Saesneg / Winner English language

The Short Knife
Elen Caldecott

Buy

It is the year 454AD. The Roman Empire has withdrawn from Britain, throwing it into the chaos of the Dark Ages. Mai has been kept safe by her father and her sister, Haf. But when Saxon warriors arrive at their farm, the family is forced to flee to the hills where British warlords lie in wait. Can Mai survive in a dangerous world where speaking her mother tongue might be deadly, and where even the people she loves the most can't be trusted?

Rhestr Fer Iaith Saesneg / English Language Short List

The Short Knife
Elen Caldecott

It is the year 454AD. The Roman Empire has withdrawn from Britain, throwing it into the chaos of the Dark Ages. Mai has been kept safe by her father and her sister, Haf. But when Saxon warriors arrive at their farm, the family is forced to flee to the hills where British warlords lie in wait. Can Mai survive in a dangerous world where speaking her mother tongue might be deadly, and where even the people she loves the most can't be trusted?

Prynu

The Quilt
Valerianne Leblond

Picture book for children aged 4-8 by the illustrator of Little Honey Bee, Wales on the Map and Four Branches of the Mabinogi. A beautifully illustrated story about migration and homesickness. Around 1900, a family leaves Wales in search of a better life in the USA, where their homemade quilt proves a great comfort.

Prynu

Where the Wilderness Lives
Jess Butterworth

An epic race for survival that follows four children and their dog through treacherous waterways, dense forests and the deep, dark wilderness of Wales. From author Jess Butterworth comes a beautifully written adventure story in a vibrantly described setting - perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

Prynu

Enillydd Oedran Cynradd / Winner Welsh language primary

Sw Sara Mai
Casia Wiliam

Buy

Welcome to Sara Mai's world, where cleaning elephant droppings appeals much more than going to school, and where it's far easier to deal with the behaviour of a South African bear than her peers in Year 5. Be ready to laugh and cry with Sara Mai as she shares the ups and downs of her life with you.

Enillydd Uwchradd Cymraeg / Winner Uwchradd / Secondary

#Helynt
Rebecca Roberts

Buy

Rachel Ross spends much of her time outside school caring for her mother, who suffers from depression, and her younger sister; but the highlights of her week are the drama group sessions she belongs to. She feels safe there … a different experience to school, where she is bullied because of her disability.

Rhestr Fer Oedran Cynradd / Shortlist Welsh language primary

Ble Mae Boc
Ar Goll yn y Chwedlau
Huw Aaron

10 illustrated double pages, with each spread offering a chance to look for Boc, the little red dragon, who's hiding on each page. Children and paretns can also look for other things, and discuss and ask questions. A Welsh twist on the Where's Wally? books.

Buy

Mae'r Cyfan i Ti
Luned Aaron

A tender and sensitive bedtime story for a parent to present the wonders of the natural world to a child. We follow the whole day from dawn to dusk as we read about the wonderful world that awaits the child. The five senses are used as the medium to show the range of experiences found in the world of nature. English translation of the text inside back cover.

Buy

Sw Sara Mai
Casia Wiliam

Welcome to Sara Mai's world, where cleaning elephant droppings appeals much more than going to school, and where it's far easier to deal with the behaviour of a South African bear than her peers in Year 5. Be ready to laugh and cry with Sara Mai as she shares the ups and downs of her life with you.

Buy

Rhestr Fer Oedran Uwchradd / Secondary Shortlist

Castell Siwgr
Angharad Tomos

A tortuous historical novel by experienced Welsh novelist. The story takes us to Penrhyn's magnificent castle and to the terrible plantations of Jamaica, as we follow the lives of two young girls, Dorcas and Eboni. This is a novel that attempts to get to grip with this shocking chapter in the history of mankind.

Buy

Llechi
Manon Steffan Ros

Gwenno is dead - perfect, clever, beautiful Gwenno, who is popular with both swots and cool people. Her body was found in the slate mine, the police are everywhere around Bethesda, and everyone is looking for her. But they have no hope of finding her, as they have no idea what she was really like.

Buy

#Helynt
Rebecca Roberts

Rachel Ross spends much of her time outside school caring for her mother, who suffers from depression, and her younger sister; but the highlights of her week are the drama group sessions she belongs to. She feels safe there … a different experience to school, where she is bullied because of her disability.

Buy