×

£8.99

The Comfort of Monsters
[9780861543540]

The Comfort of Monsters
'Every sentence is a delight in this taut and thrilling debut by Willa Richards.' Elizabeth Wetmore, author of Valentine







'Richards has flipped the usual narrative, centring not on the crime itself but on the loss that ripples from it.' New York Times Book Review







A remarkable debut novel for fans of Mary Gaitskill and Gillian Flynn about two sisters - one who disappears and the other who is left to pick up the pieces.







In the summer of 1991, teen Dee McBride vanished in the city of Milwaukee. It was the summer the Journal Sentinel dubbed 'the deadliest . . . in the history of Milwaukee.' Serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer's heinous crimes dominated the headlines and the disappearance of one girl was easily overlooked.







2019, nearly thirty years later, Dee's sister, Peg, is still haunted by her disappearance. Desperate to find out what happened to her, the family hire a psychic and Peg is plunged back into the past. But Peg's hazy recollections are far from easy to interpret and digging deep into her memory raises terrifying questions. How much trust can we place in our own recollections? How often are our memories altered by the very act of speaking them aloud? And what does it mean to bear witness in a world where even our own stories about what happened are inherently suspect?







A heartbreaking page-turner, Willa C. Richards' debut novel is the story of a broken family looking for answers in the face of the unknown.
Adolygiadau