Skip to content

New/Lists

New Children & Young People International Womens Day Bird Books Black Lives Matter

Newydd / New


Stronger
Gareth Thomas

To understand how to empower yourself, first of all you have to recognize and accept your vulnerability. In Stronger, Gareth shares how he has managed to deal with the adversity life has thrown at him over the years, from his school years to his most recent difficult announcement that he is living with HIV. Gareth's incredible willingness to expose his deepest emotional frailties as a man and come through even stronger as a result have made him a national hero and a role model for us all.

Prynu



Shuggie Bain
Douglas Stuart

It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life. She dreams of greater things: a house with its own front door and a life bought and paid for outright (like her perfect, but false, teeth). But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and soon she and her three children find themselves trapped in a decimated mining town.

Prynu


Midnight Library
Matt Haig

When Nora Seed finds herself in the Midnight Library, she has a chance to make things right. Up until now, her life has been full of misery and regret. She feels she has let everyone down, including herself. But things are about to change.

Prynu



Englishness

Until the Brexit referendum, there was widespread doubt as to whether English nationalism existed at all, at least beyond a small fringe. Since then, it has come to be regarded an obvious explanation for the vote to Leave the European Union. Subsequent opinion polls have raised doubts about the extent of continuing English commitment to the Union of the United Kingdom itself. Yet even as Englishness is apparently reshaping Britain's place in world

Prynu

The Darkest Evening
Ann Cleeves

DCI Vera Stanhope returns in the ninth novel in No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller Ann Cleeves's enduringly popular series.

Driving home during a swirling blizzard, Vera Stanhope's only thought is to get there quickly.

But with the snow driving down heavily, she becomes disorientated and loses her way. Ploughing on, she sees a car slewed off the road ahead of her. With the driver's door open, Vera assumes the driver has sought shelter but when she inspects the car she is shocked to find a young toddler strapped in the back seat.

Prynu



Lloerganiadau
Fflur Dafydd

Trysor o gyfrol o atgofion yr awdures amryddawn, Fflur Dafydd, a fu erioed yn syllu tuag at y lloer…

Hen air yn Shir Gâr am y lleuad yw’r ganaid, dyna air cain, un sy’n llawn canu. Ac mae cyfrol Fflur Dafydd yn llawn ceinder a chân hefyd – y lloer-ganiadau. Mae’r gyfrol delynegol, agos atoch hon yn un fydd yn sicr o swyno’r darllenydd. Mae’n gyfrol lawn hiwmor ac yn hynod feddylgar ar yr un pryd. Rhoddodd ei darllen hi bleser anferthol i fi.

Prynu

Man with a Van
Drew Pritchard

When I see something old, that I think is beautiful, special, valuable, it's not about the money. It's about being in another time and place.'Star of TV's Salvage Hunters, Drew Pritchard will go to the greatest lengths for the best deals. He discovered the casts Lord Elgin made of his infamous marbles in a school garage, and broke the bank to buy the tool box Malcolm Campbell used when he set the water speed record in 1934.

Prynu



The Paris Library
Janet Skeslien Charles

Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and her new job at the American Library in Paris - with its thriving community of students, writers and book lovers - is a dream come true. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes.

In Occupied Paris, choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many on the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.

Prynu

She Come by it Natural
Sarah Smarsh

Dolly Parton is the reigning queen of country music, an iconic artist in command of her own career and image, and a thriving business empire to boot. But her rise was not an easy one: born into poverty in east Tennessee, she left for Nashville at 18 with her belongings in three paper bags. Even as she shot to fame and conquered a male-dominated world that underestimated her at every turn, she never lost her connection to the working-class community she sprang from.

Prynu



The Tao of Bowie
Mark Edwards

When life gets tough, who can we turn to for help? Who will help us find happiness, meaning and purpose? The Tao of Bowie suggests that we turn to David Bowie for guidance - and use his amazing journey through life as a map to help us navigate our own.

Prynu

The Web of Belonging
Stevie Davies

In 1962 the American statesman Dean Acheson famously charged that Britain had lost an empire and failed to find a new role. Nearly sixty years later the rebuke rings true again. Britain's postwar search for its place in the world has vexed prime ministers and government since the nation's great victory in 1945: the cost of winning the war was giving up the empire.

Prynu



Exit
Belinda Bauer

Perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, this is the page-turning, twisty new crime novel and Sunday Times Thriller of the Month from the bestselling author of Snap.

'Fresh, funny, flawless. The best crime novel you'll read this year.'
Clare Mackintosh

Prynu

Let it Go
David Rahman

Llyfr cymorth defnyddiol i berswadio darllenwyr i ollwng patrymau negyddol o feddwl ac ymddygiad sy'n eu rhwystro mewn bywyd. Mae'r gyfrol yn gyfuniad o theori a strategaethau ymarferol cadarn a brofwyd dro ar ôl tro yng ngweithdai a chyrsiau'r awdur David Rahman, gan ddangos i bobl sut i fyw bywydau hapusach.

Prynu



Luckenbooth
Jenni Fagan

'Over time, 10 Luckenbooth Close sinks from grand residence to condemned squat with secrets seething in its walls … Luckenbooth is a place of compacted time, where the past manifests as unquiet ghosts and the future bleeds into the present … There's a force in Luckenbooth's bizarre assemblage.' The Times

Prynu

The Natural Health Service
Isabel Hardman

In 2016, Isabel Hardman's mind, in her own words, 'stopped working' as she fell prey to severe depression and anxiety. She took time off on long-term sick leave and despite several relapses has returned to work with a much improved ability to cope. She has since become one of the UK's most prominent public voices on mental health.

Prynu



A Warrior's tale
Dai Smith

Raymond Williams oedd y meddyliwr a'r llenor sosialaidd mwyaf dylanwadol ym Mhrydain wedi'r Ail Ryfel Byd. Mae'r bywgraffiad hwn yn elwa ar ddarlleniad o bapurau preifat a phapurau nas cyhoeddwyd gan y gwrthrych, ac yn ei osod yng nghyd-destun y tirwedd cymdeithasol a diwylliedig eang.

Prynu

Plant a phobl ifanc
Children and Young People

Branwen

Portread graffig o ail gangen y Mabinogion - Branwen, ferch Llŷr. Nod y llyfr yw cyflwyno pobl ifanc i storïau'r Mabinogion ac ailadrodd y straeon hynod weledol ac emosiynol hyn i gynulleidfa gyfoes gan ddefnyddio gwaith celf sy'n deillio o arteffactau hanesyddol.

Buy

Wilde
Eloise Williams

A contemporary adventure featuring witches and curses, from the author of }Seaglass{ and }Gaslight{ (which won the Wales Arts Review's Young People's Book of the Year).

Buy